The Golden Rule of Relationships

The Golden Rule of Relationships

I know you’ve all heard of the “Golden Rule”. “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.”

But how many have heard the “Golden Rule of Relationships”. It is a simple variation that goes like this: “Do unto others in their love language as you would have them do unto you in your love language.” But to understand this, you have to know what the 5 love languages are. Here’s a quick refresher.

  1. Words of Affirmation
  2. Physical Touch
  3. Acts of Service
  4. Gifts
  5. Quality Time

Perhaps it’s been a while since you’ve thought seriously about your own love language or even the love language of your partner. Maybe you have never investigated the 5 love languages or taken the test to determine which one best fits you and your partner. Either way, there’s no better time then now begin. Take some time to review the 5 love languages and understand the signs and traits that are associated with each language.

It may be that your love language is definitely one of the five or it may be a blend of one or more. either way, once you have determined your primary love language, take the time to identify the language of your partner. Then you can begin practicing the “Golden Rule” of relationships and watch your relationship grow and improve. No matter how rocky our relationship may be, or how wonderful our relationship may be, we all can benefit from practicing the Golden Rule. It may be the key to getting the relationship help that you need. So invest a little time to discover your love language and the love language of your partner. I think you’ll find that it pays great dividends in the long run.

For more information about the 5 Love languages check out the book by Gary Chapman entitled The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love that Lasts or visit the website for additional information and resources.

Hope it helps.




Tags: ,

Leave a Reply